Vancouver, British Columbia – May 9, 2018 – Over 700 BC business leaders and their guests gathered at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver on Tuesday, May 8th for the induction of British Columbia’s four newest members into the Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame.

JA British Columbia (JABC) has been proudly hosting this event since its inception in 2006. This 13th annual Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies was co-sponsored by Scotiabank and Fasken Martineau, and emceed by Stephen Quinn, Host, The Early Edition, CBC Vancouver.

JABC was pleased to welcome Guest of Honour, The Honourable Janet Austin, O.B.C., Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia for opening remarks. Dominic Barton, Global Managing Partner, McKinsey & Company delivered the keynote address.

The four members inducted into the Hall of Fame this year are:

·         Peter R.B. Armstrong Founder and CEO of Armstrong Group/ Rocky Mountaineer

·         Morris Belkin (1916-1987) Founder, Chairman and CEO of Belkin Inc.

·         Frank Giustra  President and CEO of Fiore Group

·         Hugh Magee  Chairman of Gwil Industries Inc.

“We are very honoured to induct these four individuals into the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame in recognition of their lifetime achievements,” says Sheila Biggers, President and CEO of JA British Columbia. “Their outstanding business accomplishments and community influence have enriched our province. These Laureates are inspiring examples for our next generation of BC business leaders and JABC students.”

The Laureate nomination process was guided by PFM Executive Search, and the final Laureate selection was made by an independent committee that included Ross J. Beaty, Lori Mathison, David McLean, John McLernon and Dr. Ken Spencer.

The four winners of this year’s JABC Student Award for Oratory and Presentation skills – Cherry Chen, Alice Ko and Kristy Shum – gave speeches on the value of their JA experience and how JABC has made an impact on their lives. The Junior Entrepreneur Presentation was delivered by KLICK, a JA Student Company that developed a bike signalling device as part of the after-school JA Company Program.

JABC wishes to recognize the Hall of Fame Co-Chairs Barbara Brink, C.M., O.B.C., and Olin Anton, FCPA, FCA, Former Managing Partner, Deloitte for their valuable guidance and leadership of the Hall of Fame Cabinet as well as their dedication to the mandate of the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame.

About the Business Laureates of British Columbia Hall of Fame

The Business Laureates of British Columbia (BLBC) Hall of Fame was created by JA British Columbia (JABC) in 2005 to honour the outstanding BC business leaders whose efforts have shaped our province and country. The Hall of Fame stands as a testament to the positive legacy the Laureates provide to the youth of British Columbia. Laureates have demonstrated a level of Vision, Leadership, Integrity and Legacy unique among their peers. Each year, new Laureates are formally welcomed into the BLBC Hall of Fame at the Gala Dinner and Induction Ceremonies. Visit for more information.

About JA British Columbia (Junior Achievement)

JA British Columbia (JABC) is a member of JA Canada who is a member of JA Worldwide, the world’s largest NGO dedicated to educating young people about business. Since 1955, British Columbia schools have relied on JA to inspire and prepare youth to succeed in an ever-changing global economy. Each year, over 38,000 students in BC benefit from JABC programs delivered free of charge by volunteers from local business communities, who bring real-life experience into the classroom. JABC programs focus on work readiness, financial literacy and entrepreneurship, giving students the confidence and skills they need to become the next generation of business and community leaders. Visit for more information.

Image above left to right: Laureate Inductee Frank Giustra, Laureate Inductee Peter R.B. Armstrong, Laureate Inductee Hugh Magee, and Stuart Belkin representing Inductee Morris Belkin